Avalanche’s Bednar calls goalie interference rule ‘a joke’ following failed challenge

Dec 5, 2025 - 16:15
 0  0
Avalanche’s Bednar calls goalie interference rule ‘a joke’ following failed challenge

Jared Bednar’s frustration with goaltender interference reached a boiling point after a lengthy challenge went against the Colorado Avalanche in their game against the New York Islanders on Thursday.

Kyle MacLean scored just over five minutes into the first period after digging a loose puck out of a chaotic scrum in front of the net and getting it past Mackenzie Blackwood.

Bednar immediately challenged for goaltender interference as the replay showed that the stick of Islanders Marc Gatcomb became wedged in Blackwood’s pads. MacLean dug for the puck and appeared to push Blackwood’s right pad while searching for it.

However, after a lengthy review, the goal stood, and the Avalanche were assessed a minor penalty for delay of game, much to the disapproval of Bednar.

“Goalie interference is a joke. If that’s not goalie interference, I don’t know what is,” Bednar told reporters after the game. “You can’t just shove the goalie’s pads out of the way and create a loose puck.”

“I’m getting them all wrong when I’m looking at challenges around the league, so I’m kind of out of my mind. I’m not going to challenge unless it is obvious. But to me, it was obvious.”

$el.after( unescape("%3Cscript src=\"" + (document.location.protocol == "https:" ? "https://sb" : "http://b") + ".scorecardresearch.com/beacon.js\" %3E%3C/script%3E") );

$( document ).one( 'ready', function() { $( "#video_container-895557" ).SNPlayer( { bc_account_id: "1704050871", bc_player_id: "JCdte3tMv", //autoplay: true, //is_has_autoplay_switch: false, bc_videos: 6386036468112, is_has_continuous_play: "false", section: "", thumbnail: "https://www.sportsnet.ca/wp-content/uploads/2025/12/6386036468112-1024x576.jpg", direct_url: "https://www.sportsnet.ca/nhl/video/goalie-interference-is-a-joke-avalanches-bednar-in-awe-about-non-call/" }); });

Blackwood believed there would have been no way for him to make the save given all the chaos in front of the net and getting pushed back.

“The puck hit me high and dropped into that triangle between your pads,” Blackwood told The Denver Post after the game. “It was rolling backwards, so I had to spin or it would’ve gone through me and the other guy crashing would’ve knocked it in. I spun and then it just turned into chaos.

“There were sticks pushing me forwards, backwards, sideways. I was just like … I don’t know.”

The NHL released an explanation following Bednar’s challenge, stating that the goal call on the ice was allowed to stand because the players were going for a loose puck and that Blackwood did not have it smothered.

“Video review supported the referees’ call on the ice that incidental contact on Colorado goaltender Mackenzie Blackwood occurred as New York players were making a play on a loose puck,” the release said. Therefore, it did not constitute goaltender interference.”

The league cited Rule 69.7, which states that, “In a rebound situation, or where a goalkeeper and attacking player(s) are simultaneously attempting to play a loose puck, whether inside or outside the crease, incidental contact with the goalkeeper will be permitted, and any goal that is scored as a result thereof will be allowed.”

Colorado would go on to lose 6-3 with Blackwood losing his first game in regulation this season. The Avalanche goaltender has been off to a torrid start with a 6-1-1 record with a 2.28 GAA and a .920 save percentage through eight appearances this season.

What's Your Reaction?

Like Like 0
Dislike Dislike 0
Love Love 0
Funny Funny 0
Angry Angry 0
Sad Sad 0
Wow Wow 0